Diary Of A New Author – Part Six

So the book is finally out on the market! I’m not so sure what to feel… Whether to feel happy or nervous… I mean, of course I’m happy – happy because my dream goal of publishing a book has been achieved… But I can’t help but feel nervous when I think that my work is now available to the public.

Recently I’ve started really working on my Goodreads author profile, which has been quite fun because I love answering questions, and I also found enjoyment in finding books I’ve read and rating them. To be honest, rating a book 3 and lower for me makes me feel really guilty… Sometimes I read the reviews of other books and they can sound so harsh, and I feel sorry for the author – I mean, they put in a lot of hard work to produce their story. I guess authors can’t please everyone though, and writing is an art – with art, you just have to do it for yourself, not for people – I think that’s when you find real gratification and happiness in your work.

I guess I’m going to have to brace myself for everything from now on – bad reviews, amazing reviews, acceptance, rejections… After all, I didn’t really write this book and publish it because I want fame. I did it because I want to be able to hold my work in my hands and smile as I look down and think ‘Wow, Danielle. You’ve done it. You’ve really done it!’

The book is available on Amazon.com via this link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0994314450

If you’re reading this and you’re considering purchasing it, I’m not gonna tell you a million reasons as to why you should, because I’m terrible when it comes to marketing and bragging about myself. But I will say that I do hope that if you ever read it, you’ll enjoy it, and that you’ll get so captivated in the story that you won’t be able to put it down! Oh, and thank you very very much for supporting my work! 🙂

  

Leave a Reply

